Good News! altHR has updated 2024 Public Holidays (PH) for Malaysia!

Please be informed that the PH list is based on the Government announcement from the Jabatan Perdana Menteri:


Replacement Holiday Treatment - State Official Rest Day

Please note that altHR will only create the Replacement Public Holiday that falls on the State's official Rest Day as per below:

  1. Kedah, Kelantan, Terengganu & Johor
    • Working Days: Sunday to Thursday
    • Official Rest Day: SATURDAY
  2. Other than Kedah, Kelantan, Terrengganu & Johor (eg. Kuala Lumpur, Selangor, Melaka, Perak, Penang and etc)
    • Working Days: Monday to Saturday
    • Official Rest Day: SUNDAY

Double Public Holidays (or Replacement PH) on the SAME DAY

Please note that in 2024 there are a few occasions that Double Public Holidays (or Replacement PH) falls on the same day or Rest Day.

In this case,

  • If both PH are not under EA1955 Gazetted PH - altHR will create the Replacement Holiday for both of the Public Holidays which fall on the same day. Users can choose to toggle ON both/ or either 1 following your company-observed PH calendar.
    • 22nd May 2024: Wesak Day & Hari Hol Pahang [Only applicable to Pahang state]
  • If only 1 of the PH is under EA1955 Gazetted PH - altHR will create the Replacement Holiday for the non-Gazetted PH
    • 16th September 2024 : Malaysia Day & Prophet Muhammad's Birthday [Malaysia Day is under EA1955 Gazetted Holiday], altHR created a Replacement Holiday for Prophet Muhammad's Birthday on 17th September 2024
  • If both PHs fall on Rest Day - altHR will create a Replacement PH for both of the PHs on the next 2 working days
    • 7th July 2024 (SUNDAY): Awal Muharram & Georgetown World Heritage City Day [Only Applicable to Penang state] 

  • If the Replacement State PH & National PH fall on the Same Day - altHR will move the Replacement State PH to the next working day

    • 2nd June 2024 (Sun) Hari Gawai Day 2 & 3rd June 2024 (Mon) Agong's Birthday - Created a Replacement PH for Hari Gawai Day 2 on 4th June 2024 (Tues) [ Ony Applicable to Sarawak state]

Continue Reading: